Pete Weber Retires — For The Second Time

by Dave Williams

I first met Pete Weber during AMF’s negotiations to purchase Dick Weber Lanes from his father in Florissant, Mo., still home to most of the Weber clan. Pete was already a PBA champion at the time with a couple of titles under his belt. He was an intense young man that had heard of my 300 and 800 exploits on the east and west coasts, and was ready to duke it out on the lanes when we first met that day.

Dick and Pete Weber (1985)

But once he learned that my personality was slightly above that of a delegate to a pacifists convention, and that I had no interest in defending my “valor” against one of the greatest bowlers in the history of bowling, we became fast friends in a mutual admiration that has continued to this day.

In an article that I penned in May of 2021 (“Pete Weber — Still Doing It His Way”), I remarked about the hospitality extended to me by all of the Weber household, refusing to let me return to my hotel room, and instead enjoying home cooked meals and visits to the famous trophy room that housed all of the Weber’s memorabilia. Whenever I would see Pete, usually during the U.S. Open at Carolier Lanes in New Jersey, he would always comment about how much his parents thought of me and enjoyed my company. The feeling was mutual.

Pete first announced his retirement from the regular PBA Tour in 2021. But Weber also said that he would continue to bowl the majors, or special invitations, as well as the PBA50 circuit for members over the age of 50. Ironically, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Pete’s nemesis for all those years, would make virtually the same announcement a couple of days later.

In Pete’s most recent announcement, he told the crowd at the PBA Pete Weber Missouri Classic, “After 44 years, it’s very humbling for me to be with you today. It’s been an honor and a privilege. I will continue to bowl on the senior tour, but you will never see me throw another ball on the kid’s tour, the Tournament of Champions, the U.S. Open or the Masters. I love you all so much. Thank you.”

In his final frame, he rolled a strike on the first ball. “Most importantly — 200,” he exclaimed, pointing to the overhead scoreboard. On the next shot he left a solid 9 pin. “How appropriate, to leave a solid 9 on my last shot,” said Weber. You could almost sense the sarcasm in his voice, referring to the many taps that he’s had to live with the past few years. As I continued watching the telecast on Bowl-TV from Enterprise Park Lanes in Springfield, Mo., I could see the frustration that must have weighed heavily upon the 61 year old Weber.

While Pete was leaving solid 9 pins, or 4 pins, or even the proverbial 10 pin, other bowlers around him, mostly two-handers, were striking at will, with only an intermittent 4 or 5 count split preventing them from a perfect score. There were so many 279’s and 280’s being rolled that it was reminiscent of playing pinball on a no-tilt machine! Only those crazy 3-4-6-7-9-10, or similar splits, were all that was preventing the players from averaging 250, or even higher. It’s a wonder that Weber and Walter Ray have remained as long as they have on the regular tour. The game is just not the same.

Pete Weber won his first title at the 1982 Greater Hartford Open in Connecticut. But he didn’t stop there, racking up a total of 10 titles by the tender age of 24, which is still a record. He’s the only PBA player to win the Triple Crown (U.S. Open, Tournament of Champions, World Championship) twice, and he has won the U.S. Open an amazing 5 times.

PBA staff writer Nolan Hughes comments that since Weber’s first retirement in 2021, he has bowled an occasional event each season, in addition to the majors. He has become a fixture at the PBA50 events, and last season earned PBA60 Player of the Year honors. The Pete Weber Missouri Classic will continue through Saturday, with the finals airing Sunday, February 19th at 1 p.m. Eastern, on Fox Sports 1.

“I can’t wait to give the best bowler the trophy on Sunday,” said Weber.


ANOTHER WEBER SAYS FAREWELL — John Weber spent a good deal of his life overseeing PBA Regional and PBA50 Tour operations. With his retirement, and that of his brother Pete, we soon may see the very first national tournament since the inception of the PBA without the name Weber in front of the camera, on the lanes, or behind the scenes. “I thank all of you for the support you’ve shown throughout the years. You guys made my job the best in the world. I’m so lucky and thankful for everything and everyone that was part of my journey. Thank you all,” said John in a posting at BCM Magazine.


Photo from the files of Henry Kaven, and provided by Dave Williams